YSJ Learn - Guide for Administrators/Tutors

YSJ Learn - Guide for Administrators/Tutors

YSJ Learn is our learning platform set up for externally facing courses.

The platform is Moodle, and has many of the same activities, resources and plugins that are used in our main internally facing Moodle platform, but with a different theme.

Logging in to YSJ Learn (YSJ staff and students)

External participants are able to self register for an account on YSJ Learn, and also self enrol onto a course as long as you provide an enrolment key.

1. Request a New Course on YSJ Learn

YSJ Staff can put in a request to TEL via the IT Support Portal.

2. Enrol Tutors onto Your Course

To enrol other YSJ staff as Tutors onto the course

  1. Go to course administration –> usersEnrolled usersenrol users

  2. Type the name of the person you wish to enrol in the search box.

  3. Choose the correct role in the assign role section  (i.e. Tutor)

  4. Click on enrol users

We would not recommend enrolling external participants or students in this way.
Provide them with an enrolment key so that they can self-enrol.

3. Create Content

Please refer to our Moodle guides.
If you require training on using YSJ Learn as an administrator or Tutor please book a training session with the TEL Team.

Tip: Create a Moodle Forum or Padlet in your course which external participants can use to ask questions. This would have to be carefully managed by you or a member of the team.
Or, you could add a support contact email (e.g. departmental email address).

 

4. Create an Enrolment Key for Your Course (enables participants/learners to self-enrol)

IMPORTANT: If you are using Groups within your course, it is possible to enrol students into your course and directly into a group at the same time using a Group Enrolment Key.
If you want this, go to straight to step 5 (and ignore step 4).

If you are not using Groups, follow step 4 below (and ignore step 5).

  1. In the course administration block, click Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment (Learner)

  2. Click the edit icon on the right (cog).

  3. Add your enrolment key in the box provided. (Click Reveal (eye) to see what you are typing.)

  4. Ensure the default assigned role is set to Learner (student).

  5. Add an enrolment duration
    Note: The enrolment time is the length of time that the enrolment is valid, starting with the moment the learner enrols. Consider carefully when you are asking learners to enrol and the length of the course. By adding an enrolment duration, this will save you time having to unenroll students after the course has ended.

  6. Add an enrolment start and end date.
    Note: This is the date that users can enrol from and to.

  7. Click the Save changes button.

  8. When you are ready for the course to be released to the learner make sure self-enrolment is enabled (has its eye open).

5. Create a Group Enrolment Key for Your Course

IMPORTANT: If you are using Groups within your course, it is possible to enrol students into your course and directly into a group at the same time using a Group Enrolment Key.
If you want this, follow the steps below.

If you are not using Groups, go back and follow step 4 above (and ignore step 5).

Your participants/learners will not need to know the ‘enrolment key for your course’ but will only need to be told their own group enrolment key.

  1. In the course administration block of your Moodle course, click Users > Groups

  2. Click on Create group 

  3. Type in a Group name (e.g. February Starters)

  4. Type in your Group Enrolment Keythis is the enrolment key you will share with your participants/learners (it will add them automatically to the Group when they enrol to the course).

  5. Click on Save changes.

Since you are using Groups, you will also be able to restrict access to content by group and restrict access by date and time as well.

You can also set up more complicated restrictions for your course using a Restriction Set if you have more than one set of restrictions on your course.

  1. In the course administration block, click Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment (Learner)

  2. By Self Enrolment, click the edit icon on the right. (cog)

  3. Add your enrolment key in the box provided.
    Tip: Click Reveal (eye) to see what you are typing.
    Note: You don’t share this Course Enrolment Key with with your participants/learners (they only need to know the Group Enrolment Key).

  4. Change use group enrolment keys to Yes

  5. Ensure the default assigned role is set to Learner (student).

  6. Add an enrolment duration
    Note: The enrolment time is the length of time that the enrolment is valid, starting with the moment the learner enrols so consider carefully when you are asking learners to enrol and the length of the course. By adding an enrolment duration, this will save you time having to unenroll students after the course has ended.

  7. Add an enrolment start and end date.
    Note: This is the date that users can enrol from and to.

  8. Click the Save changes button.

  9. When you are ready for the course to be released to the learner make sure self-enrolment is enabled (has its eye open).

 

Launch your course - steps to take

Communication Template (example):

The following is suggested text outlining how to self-register and self-enrol on a course (using an enrolment key), and can be sent to external participants/learners.
Please edit as necessary.

The [COURSE NAME] will be going live on [DATE] and will run from learn.yorksj.ac.uk.  

A. To self register on YSJ Learn:

  1. Go to learn.yorksj.ac.uk. 

  2. Click log in. 

  3. Click Create new account. 

  4. Read and agree to YSJ Learn Terms and Conditions. 

  5. Fill in your details.  

  6. An email confirmation will be sent to your email address. 

  7. Click on the confirmation in the email and you will be able to sign in with the username and password you chose. 

B. To self enrol onto your course: 

  1.  Log in to learn.yorksj.ac.uk

  2. Search for your course in the search box in the top right of the screen. 

  3. Enter the enrolment key to join the course.
    The enrolment key for the [COURSE NAME] is [ADD ENROLMENT KEY]. 

  4. Content will be made available as the course progresses so please do not worry if you only see a welcome message to start with. 

C. Password reset:

You can reset your password by clicking the forgotten password link and entering your email address.  

D. Support:

If you have any issues registering or self enrolling onto your course please contact [CONTACT NAME] and [EMAIL ADDRESS].

 

When your course has ended - steps you may take (optional)

Unenrolling participants/learners from your Course

If you had not set up enrolment duration through the enrolment key, it is possible to manually unenroll participants/learners from the course.

  • Click on Course Administration –>Users –> enrolled users and click on the bin icon by the learner you wish to unenroll from the course. 

Participants/learners are also able to unenroll themselves from courses through a link on their course page.

Deleting users from YSJ Learn

When your course ends, participants/learners may want to be removed from the YSJ Learn platform. They will be deleted from YSJ Learn in accordance with the data retention schedule. If they wish to be deleted sooner, please contact TEL by logging a support request on the IT Support Portal.

 

If participants will need to take your course again on a periodic basis (e.g. annually) you could utilise Course Recompletion. This plugin adds course-level settings for recompletion by clearing all course and activity completion for a user. It also notifies students that they need to return to the course and recomplete it.

 


Official ITS Documentation