Marking Workflow in a Moodle Assignment
Managing the release of grades and feedback in a Moodle Assignment using the Marking Workflow option.
Tutors’ familiar with the Turnitin Assignment ‘Post Date’ setting (whereby a date is entered so that the grades and feedback become visible to students at that point in time), may wonder if Moodle Assignment has such a feature. It does, and it is called Marking Workflow.
Advantages of using Marking Workflow:
a) You can keep the assignment visible and open to students (to allow late submissions) with the knowledge that they won’t see grades and feedback before they are released.
b) You can then reveal grades and feedback to the whole cohort at the same time /date, or individually to students, or groups of students giving you more granular control and a staged release.
c) A visible marking ‘status’ for each submission also helps when multiple markers are involved and Tutors want to show their progress in grading.
Marking Workflow State:
Not marked: (the marker has not yet started)
In marking: Marking has started but not yet finished.
Marking completed: Marking completed and is subject to final review.
In review: Marking is now being quality checked.
Ready for release: Marking is ready for release but is not yet visible to students.
Released: Marking is released to students and students can access the grades/feedback.
Note: The students will see the Marking Workflow stage (as long as the Moodle Assignment remains visible to students).
How to set up Marking Workflow:
When setting up a Moodle Assignment, set Marking Workflow to ‘Yes’ (Grade tab).
Updating the Marking Workflow state:
This can be done against each individual student submission during the marking process.
Click on Grade and you will see the ‘Marking workflow state’ in the right-hand pane.
If you want to release grades and feedback to all students at one time, set the final status’ for individual students as ‘Ready for release’ once you have finished marking each submission.
Then once all submissions have been marked, you can release them all in one go:-
In the Submissions table, select (tick checkbox) all the student who have ‘ready for release’ status.
Below the Submissions table, with selected… ‘Set marking workflow state’ and click ‘Go’.
Click on OK in the pop-up message to confirm that you are changing the workflow state.
From the ‘Marking workflow state’ drop down, select ‘Released’ and ‘Yes’ to notifying students (if you wish to do so).
Click on ‘Save changes’.